DUI Defense Attorneys
in Knoxville, Tennessee
Have you been charged with a DUI in Knoxville or a surrounding area? The Knoxville DUI defense lawyers at Wykoff & Sikes, PLLC can help you. We work hard to find mistakes made in the prosecution of your case. We use the expertise of experts, investigators, technology, and the law to identify areas of your case where the State of Tennessee may have fallen short to meet its burden of proof in your DUI case.
A DUI arrest is embarrassing and many people want to just get the matter behind them, but do not be quick to give up your rights or you will regret it. A DUI conviction has serious consequences such as mandatory jail time, loss of driving privileges, and a fine. We have represented hundreds of citizens against DUI charges and have often gotten the charges dropped, reduced, or have them negotiated to a lesser penalty. Remember, you have the right to an attorney and to remain silent. Exercise those rights and let us be your guide through this terrible time in your life.
DUI Attorneys Working for You and Your Rights!
We can assist you with all kinds of DUI-related cases, including:
DUI Driver’s License Reinstatements
First Offense DUI Charge
Second and Subsequent DUI Offenses
Defending Your Rights
A DUI arrest usually begins with a traffic stop by a police officer. The officer must comply with strict protocols and guidelines before initiating the stop to ensure that your rights are not violated. To pull you over, an officer needs reasonable suspicion or probable cause. We can use any mistakes made by the officer during the stop and the arrest in your defense. Our Knoxville DUI defense attorneys will investigate the details of your arrest and the circumstances surrounding it. When necessary and appropriate, we will examine and challenge the results of BAC testing. If there are any details that could help your case, we will find them, and we will remain by your throughout the entire process.
What Is a DUI Tennessee?
In Tennessee, impaired driving is presumed if you have a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or higher. If you are under 21, impaired driving is found when you have a BAC of .02 or higher. If you are a commercial driver – BAC at or above .04 percent is above the legal limit.
What Is Implied Consent?
When a driver is pulled over for suspicion of DUI, the implied consent laws in Tennessee apply. Refusing the chemical test can result in a one-year suspension of your license. If you refuse to take the chemical test, you may still face DUI charges.
Understand Your Rights After a DUI ChargeSchedule a Meeting With Us
Will I Go to Jail if I Am Convicted of A DUI?
In Tennessee, there are mandatory, minimum penalties if you are convicted for DUI. These penalties depend on the number of times you have been convicted of a DUI offense in ther past.
The potential minimum penalties include:
First offense: 48 hours in jail, $350 fine, loss of driving privileges for one year
Second offense: 45 days in jail, $600 fine, loss of driving privileges for two years
Third offense: 120 days in jail, $1,100 fine, loss of driver’s privileges for three years
Fourth offense: 150 days in jail, $2,500 fine, loss of driving privileges for five years
What Are Other Consequences of A DUI?
In addition to potential jail time, fines, and a loss of driving privileges, you may face other consequences if you are convicted. For example, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. If you are CDL holder – you can lose your CDL and your ability to earn a living if you are a commercial truck driver. A third or subsequent DUI offense is considered a felony. Lastly, getting a criminal record could be detrimental to the rest of your life.
Can I Drive After Being Arrested for DUI?
Yes, driver’s licenses are not affected until a judge suspends them. If your case is ultimately dismissed, you may never lose your driving privileges. However, if you are convicted of DUI or implied consent, the judge must suspend your license for at least one year. It is still possible to get to work or school utilizing a restricted driver’s license.
Contact a Knoxville DUI Defense Attorney Today for Help!
If you have been charged with a DUI offense in Tennessee, the Knoxville DUI defense lawyers at Wykoff & Sikes, PLLC will help you get the best defense possible based on the facts and circumstances of your case. Contact our attorneys as quickly as possible after your arrest so that our Tennessee DUI defense lawyers can conduct a prompt investigation of the circumstances surrounding your case. A thorough investigation by a trained team of DUI defense lawyers will increase your chances of obtaining a favorable outcome for your case.